Academy Board of Trustees

Go back to the Academy Page

Board of Trustees (BoT)

The Board of Trustees supports the development of innovation policies and oversees the recognition of achievements in innovation through the granting of Innovation Academy Awards

The Board of Trustees is being established and currently includes the following board members:

Secretary for Information Technology Policy for the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation of Brazil
Director for Research Connections at Microsoft Research for Europe, Middle East and Africa
Executive President of the “Rey Jaime I” Prizes and Secretary of the Fundación Valenciana de Estudios Avanzados
Policy Forum Director and Fellow, Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research
EIT Governing Board and Minister of Education
Director of the Blue Brain Project at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)
President of The Open University, Israel
President and Node Director of European Institute for Innovation and Technology (EIT) Italy
FBK-IRST Senior Fellow, AAAI Fellow and ECCAI Fellow
Director of the Spanish National Centre of Supercomputing; Correspondant Academic of the Spanish Royal Academy of Science
Director and CEO of the German Research Centre for Artificial Intelligence, DFKI GmbH
Director of Technology, Innovation, & Entrpreneurship at National Academy of Sciences


The Members of the Board of Trustees are nominated by the EAI Steering Board and approved by the Board of Governors. The Chair of the Board of Trustees is approved by the Board of Governors upon the nomination by the EAI President.

The Members of the Board of Trustees are appointed for three-year terms.

The key duties of the Board of Trustees are:

  • To help the Academy set high standards by producing an annual statement outlining the key innovation challenges and EAI strategy;
  • To approve Academy Members;
  • To approve proposals for new Academy Awards in addition to the initial Awards;
  • To approve the nominations for Academy “Excellence in Innovation” Medals;
  • To appoint the EAI Fellows Committee.

The Chair’s responsibilities include:

  • To call annual meetings, to be attended in person or by video conference;
  • To act as Editor-in-Chief of the annual report;
  • To chair the Academy Members Committee.

The Trustee Body shall hold at least one meeting every year, in person or by video conference, to take place during the annual European Forum for Innovation, EFI.


Social links