Aalborg University

Aalborg University is a comprehensive university that covers the fields of natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, technical and health sciences. The technical and natural sciences are the biggest research fields at AAU, including technology research, wireless communication, energy, computer science, innovation economics and more.
Aalborg University (AAU) was created through a merger of a number of well-established institutions, combined with the establishment of a number of new faculties in 1974. The university is placed in three campus areas across Denmark: Aalborg Campus in the North-Jutland, Esbjerg Campus in the south-west of Denmark, and Copenhagen Campus based in Ballerup, just west of Copenhagen.
The university engages in extensive collaboration with the surrounding society, and has established a number of strong research fields, some of which are in the international class. The number of students has increased from 3,000 during the first years of the university to the present 15,000, of which 1500 are international students. Aalborg University is a dynamic and innovative research and educational institution oriented towards the surrounding world. It is characterized by combining a keen engagement in local, regional, and national issues with an active commitment to international collaboration. The international perspective is reflected in the university’s research and education activities through the employment of international teaching staff, the establishment of student exchange programmes and international research collaboration. More than 80 programmes are taught in English, and 30% of the 1500 researchers and teachers employed at the university are international researchers.


Social links